ME Tupilak 45+ or Deuter Guide 44 + 8?

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 Gordonbp 24 Jul 2024

looking for a new rucksack. Which of the above 2 would people recommend?

galpinos 24 Jul 2024
In reply to Gordonbp:

I have the Tupilak 37+ and I use it for everything pretty much. I have no experience of the Deuter.

Pros:

• Super Light
  • Really comfy
  • Back panel is really good*, despite being v. thin (I don't feel cams etc poking me in the back)
  • Fabric is surprisingly tough and very weatherproof
  • 37+ is a great size for me

Cons:

• No lid pocket. The floating pocket in lieu of the lid is forever in the way. You can either leave it "down the back" in which case you can't get anything in it of "lie it on top" in which case we have to lift it up to get stuff out.
  • Internal dry bag closure - I get it, but I don't use it and it either falls into not necessary or annoying. I have pushed it down into the sac and it doesn't get in the way as I think I will use it in the future but even in Scottish winter, where I could use it to separate "dry kit" from a damp belay jacket eyc, it just seems to faffy.
  • Side compression strap buckles a re a bit faffy.
  • Rope carry is a bit meh, but I mostly put the rope inside the pack.

It is the comfiest sac I have ever had and is far superior to the Osprey Mutant that preceded it. I also use an OG Ascensionist 25 sometimes when I am trying to limit the amount of gear I take but I would reach for the Tupilak for everything, from a family walk to a Scottish winter day.

* I managed to get a Tupilak back panel that I have put in my Ascensionist and it is carries 10x better. The Tupilak panel is thinner, but stiffer, so the pack holds it's shape better and protects from sharp pointy bits of gear!

Dave Garnett 24 Jul 2024
In reply to galpinos:

> I have the Tupilak 37+ and I use it for everything pretty much. I have no experience of the Deuter.

> Pros:

> Super Light

> Really comfy