Realising Dust

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 aln 09 Jul 2024

One of my favourite bands are Screaming Trees. I came to them after they split, and explored their back catalogue. Dust has often been touted as their best work, but I always preferred Sweet Oblivion. But I'm listening to Dust now, and I'm loving it!

Sam Beaton 09 Jul 2024
In reply to aln:

Funny you should mention them just now. A review of Mark Lanegan's album Whiskey For The Holy Ghost popped up on FB this morning and I'm about to listen to it. His voice is amazing (as is Sweet Oblivion. I haven't listened to Dust but will soon)

OP aln 09 Jul 2024
In reply to Sam Beaton:

He might not be a perfect singer in a technical sense, but he has that gravel and honey kinda thing that's perfect for his music. For me, Sweet Oblivion is a masterpiece, power, beauty and gravitas. I'm just getting into Lanegan's solo stuff, I need to check out Whiskey.... Bumblebee also gets great reviews. 

If you haven't read his autobiography, Sing Backwards And Weep, you really should.

Post edited at 16:04
In reply to aln:

> If you haven't read his autobiography, Sing Backwards And Weep, you really should.

A bit of a gruelling read but a great insight into the backstory of the music scene of the time. The bits about Liam Gallagher are rather amusing.

broken spectre 11 Jul 2024
In reply to aln:

Enjoyed! Screaming Trees is a group I know nothing about.

For some reason it put me in mind of Welcome to Sky Valley - Kyuss and Era Vulgaris - Queens of the Stone Age.

I believe Lanegan was part of that circle. His voice is something else!

OP aln 11 Jul 2024
In reply to broken spectre:

Glad you liked it! Have a listen to Sweet Oblivion next.

Lanegan and Homme were close, Homme sometimes played live with ST. Homme was there when Lanegan had the hilarious encounter with LG mentioned above.

Bog ninja 11 Jul 2024
In reply to aln: