Novice question about MTB pedals

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 tony 27 Jun 2024

I'm a novice MTB rider - I can manage blue trails at Comrie Croft, which are apparently quite hard for blue trails, but struggle with anything harder, both going up and down. I'm currently riding with flat pedals, and on some of the sketchier parts of the trails, I do lose my footing on the pedals, which is a little disconcerting.

I'm used to riding with cleats on my road bike, and I'm now considering clipless pedals for my mountain bike, but I'd like to retain the option of flats as well. I'd welcome recommendations for double-sided pedals with SPD on one side and flat on the other side.

And then I'd need some new shoes ...

And why are clipless pedals called clipless when they clearly involve clips?

annieman 27 Jun 2024
In reply to tony:

I have something similar to these

HOUSON Road Bike Pedals, Cycling Pedal Adapter Compatible with Shimano M520 M540 M780 M8000 M9000 Pedal

When I'm delivering bikeaility courses I need flat shoes, but when I ride for myself I wear SPD shoes.

These will clip-in to one side of the SPD.

daftdazza 27 Jun 2024
In reply to tony:

Hi,

What shoes were you using on the flat pedals?  Good flat flat pedals combined with decent MTB shoes should glue together quite nicely with little chance of foot slip. 

Personally I would preserve with the flat pedals, maybe lessen tyre pressure and try a firm shoe with good rubber.  For a combined pedal these look good https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shimano-Pedals-PD-EH500-pedals-inches/dp/B07CDQ4K7...

But for beginning at MTB being able to dab your foot quickly is definitely an advantage and flat pedals will make this much easier.

Doug 27 Jun 2024
In reply to tony:

clipless as they don't use 'old style' toe clips.

On an old mountain bike I have a pair of two sided pedals a bit like https://www.rosebikes.fr/rose-duo-x-pedales-pedales-duo-pedales-hybrides-pe...